Writing Strong Female Characters, pt. 2

West Point cadet reads her poem (photo from West Point Public Affairs)

(Taking tomorrow off, so I’m blogging now.)

A while back on Twitter, Fantasy Faction asked its followers for possible future article topics.  I submitted, “How to write strong female characters without making them warriors.”  Those who follow this blog know that this is something that’s been on my mind quite a bit in the past few months. (Just one example.)

And then I went my merry way because, sad as it sounds, I treated this as a contest and I never win contests.  Ever.

So, after coming up for air from the major revising/editing I’ve done on what may or may not be named Shining Armor (more on that later) I visited Fantasy Faction again and discovered Amy Rose Davis had written a brilliant article on that topic.

For those who read my previous thoughts on the subject, Ms. Davis’ article is a must-read.  I especially love her examination of the current trend in fantasy to make women more like men in order to add “strength”.

(Quick Unrelated Note:  Friday, I’ll go back to my usual blogging schedule. As for books, I’m currently reading The Druid by S. G. Rogers.  The sample made me laugh.  Hope to have it finished in time to blog about it on Monday.  Also, I’m working on a review of How to Think Sideways by Holly Lisle.  The lessons I’ve completed anyway.  It’s the most amazing set of professional-level writing advice I’ve read so far.  More gushing later.)

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Strong Female Characters, pt. 2

  1. Amy, thanks so much for the mention! I’m glad you liked the article. You sparked a whole bunch of thoughts for me, and this is a topic near and dear to my heart, so I’m glad you asked the question. 🙂 Hope you enjoy the rest of the articles in the series!

    Like

Thoughts?