General Update and Apologies

First, writing progress:

My #FlashFictionFriday stories are part of a larger idea. I’m going to put together a collection of the first fifteen and sell it alongside my novels.

But that’s not all. That same collection will be available for free via my email list. The end result will not only have the fantasy flash stories I’ve already put up here, but five new ones I’ve been working on and five more that will be set in worlds I’ve already created. This isn’t a hard list, but those five will likely include a story with Nicholas and Annie, Ru and Tabitha, Zhiv, Krysilla, and one with Jack and Maggie, two characters who’ve already appeared in a paranormal romance short story I wrote for Halloween (Flicker of Time) and who will eventually make it into a full-length, standalone novel.

That’s my hope, and I think the stories will be strong enough to offer as a thank you to those who join the list.

The Castle in the Story has been difficult to get back to. All progress on this has pretty much halted now that my youngest is old enough to crawl through the house. I hope to find time for it soon, though.

This leads me to my apology. Because of these time constraints, I’m afraid blogging is going to be sporadic. I’ll post something once a month on the 11th because that’s what I promised I’d do as part of the Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour. However, my life has taken a turn such that anything that doesn’t generate new words, or money, must go. And frankly, even new words may not make the cut.

This is about more than having a growing infant. It’s about a life situation that has to change. As it stands, I’ll be lucky if I get my other projects under a different pen name done, let alone Castle. Much as I love fiction, we need more money flowing in, and if fiction isn’t going to do it, I’m going to switch to something else.

I’m hoping I don’t have to do that. It would be a disservice to my fans and to me. I write these stories because I love them, and to find out what happens to my characters is one of the joys of putting new words down. The fans won’t be the only ones dangling if I take a break from that now.

So, please know that I’m dedicated to finishing these stories, no matter how long it takes. I will finish them.

I just need to figure out what’s best for my family and me first.

2 thoughts on “General Update and Apologies

Thoughts?

